Some archive (>10 years old) programs are not reachable through the search engine. They can be found at
Your support is essential if the service is to continue, there are bandwidth bills to pay every month and failing disk drives to replace. Volunteers do the work, but disk drives and bandwidth are not free. Click on this bar to contribute, even a dollar helps.
Program Information
 The Sonic Cafe 
 On The Edge of a Dream
 Weekly Program
 Scott Clark
 Scott Clark  
 For non-profit use only.
 Attribution (by) 
 No Advisories - program content screened and verified.
Sonic Cafe, a song with that certain Je Nah Say Kwah, that’s Monkeyjunk music from their 2013 All Frequencies album. So hey glad you stopped by our little coastal café, I’m Scott Clark and this is episode 241. It’s called Liminal dreaming, and it sits at the edge of consciousness, right between waking and sleep. A swirling transitional zone, a semi-conscious place where we get some of our most interesting and creative insights. This time the Sonic Café takes you to the edge of a dream with a music mix pulled from 43 years or so. Listen lucidly for a mix of tunes presented to help you surf the space between wakefulness and that swirling mix of thoughts that escorts us to sleep. Ahh yeah, ahem. We’ll hear from the Orb, Nektar, the Chris Robinson Brotherhood, Basement Jaxx, Mocean Worker, Naked Music, Neil Finn, Nostalgia 77 and of course more. All that plus a collection of dream surfing observations from Carl Sagan, Steven Wright, Captain Jack Sparrow and more. All straight ahead as the Sonic Café takes you to the edge of a dream, from our little café on the foggy, misty Pacific coast, we’re the Sonic Café.
Song 1: Je Nah Say Kwah
Artist: MonkeyJunk
LP: All Frequencies
Yr: 2013
Song 2: Inside a Dream
Artist: Pet Shop Boys
LP: Electric
Yr: 2013
Song 3: Vuja De
Artist: The Orb
LP: The Dream
Yr: 2007
Song 4: Give Us Back Our Eleven Days
Artist: Chris Robinson Brotherhood
LP: Any Way You Love, We Know How You Feel
Yr: 2016
Song 5: Magic Is A Child
Artist: Nektar
LP: Magic Is A Child
Year: 1977
Song 6: STEVEN_WRIGHT_Rent My Dream
Yr: 2007
Song 7: Broken Dreams
Artist: Basement Jaxx
LP: Rooty
Yr: 2001
Song 8: Son Of Sanford
Artist: Mocean Worker
LP: Cinco De Mowo!
Yr: 2007
Song 9: The Haunting Idle
Artist: The War On Drugs
LP: Lost In The Dream
Yr: 2014
Song 10: Face the Day
Artist: Naked Music
LP: Re-Creation
Yr: 2008
Song 11: Lullaby Requiem
Artist: Neil Finn
LP: One All
Yr: 2002
Song 12: Dreamers dance
Artist: Nostalgia 77
LP: Everything Under the Sun
Yr: 2008
Song 13: Bukowski
Artist: Modest Mouse
LP: Good News For People Who Love Bad News
Yr: 2004
Song 14: And Dream Of Sheep
Artist: Kate Bush
LP: Hounds Of Love
Yr: 1985
Song 15: Annihilation
Artist: A Perfect Circle
Yr: 2004
About the Producer:

Scott Clark has always had a lot of music in his life. Growing up outside of Chicago, he was mesmerized early on by the radio of the sixties and seventies and began collecting records at a very early age. From 45’s and LP’s to cassettes and CD’s and now digital… he really never stopped. Today everything in his library is digitized because he got sick of lugging all that stuff around.

The concept for the Sonic Café is to deliver the high production values and feel of the radio he grew up listening to. But unlike the tight, repetitious playlists of those commercial stations, feature a massive range of artists, genres and tunes. The whole idea is to package it in an eclectic, engaging, no repeat format that brings both new and old together in a unique, entertaining, and most importantly fun and fast paced way. There’s really nothing on the radio today, or in the past, that compares with it.

About the Sonic Café:

The show is set in an imaginary cafe overlooking the Pacific Ocean on the Central Oregon Coast. The cafe serves up eclectic, intelligent music, comedy and pop culture. The program originates from KYAQ radio located on the Oregon coast in the Pacific Northwest, so the imagery is not a huge stretch.

Each program is 58:00 minutes in length leaving room for station ID, promos and PSAs. Each episode is .mp3 encoded at a constant rate of 256kbps and ready for broadcast.

An episode is released each Friday. All episodes are evergreen; never focusing on time of year, weather, month, holidays, events etc. so each show is timeless. All music is presented in a no repeat format. Once a song airs in an episode it never airs again. Episodes may be downloaded and grouped together to quickly create program blocks of two, three, four or more hours in length.

The Sonic Cafe has a Facebook page ( where complete show notes and playlists are presented for each episode. Listeners can also reach the show producers via email (

  Download Program Podcast
00:58:00 English
  View Script
Sonic Cafe #241  00:58:00  256Kbps mp3
(109MB) Stereo
26 Download File...