Some archive (>10 years old) programs are not reachable through the search engine. They can be found at
Your support is essential if the service is to continue, there are bandwidth bills to pay every month and failing disk drives to replace. Volunteers do the work, but disk drives and bandwidth are not free. Click on this bar to contribute, even a dollar helps.
Program Information
 The Sonic Cafe 
 The Doomsday Prepper
 Weekly Program
 Scott Clark
 Scott Clark  
 For non-profit use only.
 Attribution (by) 
 No Advisories - program content screened and verified.
Sonic Café, that’s Future Islands with Seasons, a powerful tune from their critically acclaimed 2014 Singles album release. Wow, I’ll take all of that you got. So how yah doin’ anyway? I’m Scott Clark and this is episode 235. Welcome to another hour From the little radio café where we strive to help you reach a place of true enlightenment with our mix of intelligent, eclectic music comedy and pop culture. I know it’s a tall order, but hey, let’s give it a shot. This time the Sonic Café features a mix of tunes we really like, listen for The Strokes, Dreamcar, Arling & Cameron, Phil Good, Panic at the Disco, Parquet Courts and many more. Then comedian Andrew Rivers stops by to tell us all about his recent run in with a doomsday prepper. So stay tuned for that. And then still later the Sonic Café brings you another classic movie moment. From 2002’s Poolhall Junkies listen as Christopher Walken motivates us all with the Lion Speech. All that and of course more straight ahead from our little café on the coast in the great Pacific northwest, we’re the Sonic Café.
Song 1: Seasons (Waiting On You)
Artist: Future Islands
LP: Singles
Yr: 2014
Song 2: On The Other Side
Artist: The Strokes
LP: First Impressions Of Earth
Yr: 2006
Song 3: Born To Lie
LP: Dreamcar
Yr: 2017
Song 4: Up
Artist: Arling & Cameron
LP: We Are A & C
Yr: 2017
Song 5: Doomsday Prepper
Artist: Andrew Rivers
LP: Dry Bar Comedy
Song 6: Everything's Good
Artist: Phil Good
LP: Everything's Good
Yr: 2020
Song 7: Voodoo Child
Artist: Jimi Hendrix
LP: Electric Ladyland
Yr: 1968
Song 8: Do It Again Intro
Artist: Donald Fagen
LP: Steely Dan
Yr: 1988
Song 9: Do It Again
Artist: Steely Dan
LP: Can't Buy A Thrill
Yr: 1972
Song 10: The Lion Speech
Artist: Chrstopher Walken
LP: Poolhall Junkies
Yr: 2002
Song 11: Get In The Mind Shaft
Artist: Jack White
LP: Boarding House Reach
Yr: 2018
Song 12: The Overpass
Artist: Panic! At The Disco
LP: Pray For The Wicked
Yr: 2018
Song 13: Black And White
Artist: Parquet Courts
LP: Sunbathing Animal
Yr: 2014
Song 14: The Last Refugee
Artist: Roger Waters
LP: Is This The Life We Really Want?
Yr: 2017
Song 15: 122.3 BPM
Artist: Human League
LP: Secrets
Yr: 2001
About the Producer:

Scott Clark has always had a lot of music in his life. Growing up outside of Chicago, he was mesmerized early on by the radio of the sixties and seventies and began collecting records at a very early age. From 45’s and LP’s to cassettes and CD’s and now digital… he really never stopped. Today everything in his library is digitized because he got sick of lugging all that stuff around.

The concept for the Sonic Café is to deliver the high production values and feel of the radio he grew up listening to. But unlike the tight, repetitious playlists of those commercial stations, feature a massive range of artists, genres and tunes. The whole idea is to package it in an eclectic, engaging, no repeat format that brings both new and old together in a unique, entertaining, and most importantly fun and fast paced way. There’s really nothing on the radio today, or in the past, that compares with it.

About the Sonic Café:

The show is set in an imaginary cafe overlooking the Pacific Ocean on the Central Oregon Coast. The cafe serves up eclectic, intelligent music, comedy and pop culture. The program originates from KYAQ radio located on the Oregon coast in the Pacific Northwest, so the imagery is not a huge stretch.

Each program is 58:00 minutes in length leaving room for station ID, promos and PSAs. Each episode is .mp3 encoded at a constant rate of 256kbps and ready for broadcast.

An episode is released each Friday. All episodes are evergreen; never focusing on time of year, weather, month, holidays, events etc. so each show is timeless. All music is presented in a no repeat format. Once a song airs in an episode it never airs again. Episodes may be downloaded and grouped together to quickly create program blocks of two, three, four or more hours in length.

The Sonic Cafe has a Facebook page ( where complete show notes and playlists are presented for each episode. Listeners can also reach the show producers via email (

  Download Program Podcast
00:58:00 English
  View Script
Sonic Cafe #235  00:58:00  256Kbps mp3
(109MB) Stereo
24 Download File...