Some archive (>10 years old) programs are not reachable through the search engine. They can be found at
Your support is essential if the service is to continue, there are bandwidth bills to pay every month and failing disk drives to replace. Volunteers do the work, but disk drives and bandwidth are not free. Click on this bar to contribute, even a dollar helps.
Program Information
 The Sonic Cafe 
 Scared Straight at Summer Camp
 Weekly Program
 Scott Clark
 Scott Clark  
 For non-profit use only.
 Attribution (by) 
 No Advisories - program content screened and verified.
Sonic Café with John Lennon music from his 1974 Walls and Bridges album, so hey glad you stopped by, I’m Scott Clark and this is episode 159. This time the Sonic Café gets you back on the right path. Listen for stand-up comedy from Shayne Smith in a little story Shayne calls Scared Straight at Summer Camp. Along with that we’ve pulled together an eclectic music mix covering 26 years. Listen for The Moody Blues, Pucho, Steve Hackett with beautiful vocals from Randy Crawford, plus Tony Levin, Better Than Ezra and of course many more. Then later the Sonic Café presents another classic movie moment from 1987’s Full Metal Jacket… if this clip doesn’t scare you straight nothing else will. Then listen for another commercial parody as the Sonic Café welcomes Lombank to the program. Lombank, the American bank that truly more or less cares about you. All that and probably some other stuff too. So get prepared to be Scared Straight this time from that little café on the coast that brings a weekly dose of creative, eclectic radio that’s fun. We’re the Sonic Café.
Song 1: Scared
Artist: John Lennon
LP: Walls And Bridges
Yr: 1974
Song 2: Stand Or Fall
Artist: The Fixx
LP: Shuttered Room
Yr: 1982
Song 3: Cantaloupe Island
Artist: Pucho and the Latin Soul Brothers
LP: Tough!
Yr: 1994
Song 4: Talking Out Of Turn
Artist: The Moody Blues
LP: Long Distance Voyager
Yr: 1981
Song 5: Like Humans Do
Artist: David Byrne
LP: Look Into The Eyeball
Yr: 2001
Song 6: Lombank
Artist: GTA V
Yr: 2013
Song 7: Stop Hurting People
Artist: Pete Townshend
LP: All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes
Yr: 1982
Song 8: Hoping Love Will Last
Artist: Steve Hackett w/Randy Crawford
LP: Please Don't Touch
Yr: 1978
Song 9: Scared Straight At Summer Camp
Artist: Shayne Smith
LP: Dry Bar Comedy
Song 10: Finest Worksong (Mutual Drum Horn Mix)
Artist: R.E.M.
LP: Eponymous
Yr: 1988
Song 11: Gecko Walk
Artist: Tony Levin
LP: Waters of Eden
Yr: 2000
Song 12: Full Metal Jacket Private Pyle
Artist: Lee Ermey/Vincent D'Onofrio
LP: Full Metal Jacket
Yr: 1987
Song 13: Scared Are You?
Artist: Better Than Ezra
LP: Friction Baby
Yr: 1996
Song 14: Radio Prague
Artist: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
LP: Dazzle Ships
Yr: 1983
About the Producer:

Scott Clark has always had a lot of music in his life. Growing up outside of Chicago, he was mesmerized early on by the radio of the sixties and seventies and began collecting records at a very early age. From 45’s and LP’s to cassettes and CD’s and now digital… he really never stopped. Today everything in his library is digitized because “I got sick of lugging all that stuff around.”

The concept for the Sonic Café is to deliver the high production values and feel of the radio he grew up listening to. But unlike the tight, repetitious playlists of those commercial stations, instead feature a massive range of artists, genres and tunes. The whole idea is to package it in an eclectic, engaging, no repeat format that brings both new and old together in a unique, entertaining, and most importantly fun and fast paced way. There’s really nothing on the radio today, or in the past, that compares with it.

About the Sonic Café:

The show is set in an imaginary cafe overlooking the Pacific Ocean on the Central Oregon Coast. The cafe serves up eclectic, intelligent music, comedy and pop culture. The program originates from KYAQ radio located on the Oregon coast in the Pacific Northwest, so the imagery is not a huge stretch.

Each program is 58:00 minutes in length leaving room for station ID, promos and PSAs. Each episode is .mp3 encoded at a constant rate of 256kbps and ready for broadcast.

An episode is released each Friday. All episodes are evergreen; never focusing on time of year, weather, month, holidays, events etc. so each show is timeless. All music is presented in a no repeat format. Once a song airs in an episode it never airs again. Episodes may be downloaded and grouped together to quickly create program blocks of two, three, four or more hours in length.

The Sonic Cafe has a Facebook page ( where complete show notes and playlists are presented for each episode. Listeners can also reach the show producers via email (

  Download Program Podcast
00:58:00 English
  View Script
Sonic Cafe #159  00:58:00  256Kbps mp3
(109MB) Stereo
38 Download File...